Loading institutional data...
Loading institutional data...
No institutional (13F) filings cover this company, so the Overview and 13F tabs are thin. Everything drawn from its SEC filings is here.
Loading snapshot...
Loading financials...
Loading valuation...
Loading analysis...
Loading dividends & returns...
Loading capital allocation...
Loading debt & leverage...
Loading performance...
Loading peer comparison...
Ranked against 38 sector peers with collected financials. Valuation from latest close × latest fiscal-year fundamentals; 13F conviction as of 2026-06-30.
Percentile is “goodness” within the peer set (100 = best). For valuation and leverage that means cheaper / less-levered ranks higher.
| Company | Mkt cap ▼ | P/E | EV/EBITDA | P/S | Rev gr | Gross | Net | ROE | ROIC | Net D/EBITDA | 13F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOG | $74.2B | 15.5× | 7.3× | 3.3× | -4.5% | — | 22.0% | 16.7% | 13.2% | 0.4× | 1,561 |
| OXY | $58.1B | 36.1× | — | 2.7× | -1.9% | — | 11.0% | 6.6% | 4.2% | — | 1,206 |
| DVN | $52.4B | 11.4× | — | 3.0× | 7.8% | — | 15.4% | 17.0% | 11.0% | — | 1,410 |
| FANG | $51.7B | 32.2× | 10.5× | 3.4× | 35.8% | — | 11.1% | 4.5% | 3.2% | 2.3× | 1,145 |
| EQT | $31.4B | 15.2× | 6.7× | 3.6× | 63.9% | 82.3% | 23.6% | 8.6% | 6.5% | 1.3× | 1,062 |
| EXE | $19.8B | 11.3× | 4.4× | 1.6× | 186% | — | 15.0% | 9.8% | 7.7% | 0.8× | 820 |
| PR | $18.5B | 17.3× | — | 3.7× | 1.3% | — | 18.5% | 9.1% | 6.8% | — | 583 |
| OVV | $16.7B | 12.6× | 6.6× | 1.9× | -2.7% | — | 13.9% | 11.1% | 7.6% | 1.6× | 576 |
| AR | $10.5B | 16.8× | 7.3× | 2.0× | 22.0% | — | 12.8% | 8.9% | 7.5% | 0.9× | 609 |
| RRC | $8.9B | 13.9× | — | 2.9× | 28.9% | 94.0% | 21.1% | 15.2% | 11.9% | — | 525 |
| SM | $8.4B | 6.3× | — | 2.7× | 17.2% | — | 20.5% | 13.5% | 13.5% | — | 481 |
| CHRD | $7.5B | 185.2× | 5.3× | 1.5× | -7.1% | 80.0% | 0.9% | 0.6% | 0.5% | 0.8× | 498 |
| MTDR | $6.6B | 8.8× | 4.1× | 1.8× | 5.5% | 94.4% | 20.5% | 13.4% | 8.4% | 1.4× | 472 |
| MGY | $6.5B | — | 7.5× | 4.9× | -0.3% | — | 24.8% | 16.3% | 13.6% | 0.1× | 394 |
| MUR | $5.4B | 52.3× | 4.9× | 2.0× | -10.2% | 100% | 3.8% | 2.0% | 1.6% | 0.7× | 419 |
| CNX | $4.7B | 7.9× | 4.8× | 2.1× | 76.8% | — | 28.3% | 14.6% | 9.4% | 1.6× | 374 |
| CRC | $4.7B | 12.6× | 5.2× | 1.3× | 14.7% | — | 9.9% | 9.9% | 7.3% | 1.0× | 352 |
| PARR | $4.2B | 11.7× | 7.1× | 0.6× | -6.4% | — | 4.9% | 24.4% | 16.0% | 0.9× | 360 |
| CRK | $3.8B | 8.9× | 5.1× | 1.7× | 77.0% | — | 17.8% | 14.9% | 7.3% | 2.2× | 313 |
| TALO | $2.8B | — | 7.4× | 1.6× | -9.8% | — | -27.8% | -22.8% | -14.6% | 1.7× | 285 |
| GPOR | $2.7B | 7.2× | 3.9× | 1.9× | 48.5% | 74.8% | 30.1% | 23.3% | 16.3% | 0.9× | 279 |
| NOG | $2.5B | 61.1× | — | 1.0× | 11.2% | 80.9% | 1.6% | 1.8% | 0.9% | — | 333 |
| BKV | $2.4B | 10.5× | 6.5× | 2.1× | 9.9% | — | 15.7% | 9.0% | 5.7% | 1.8× | 160 |
| AESI | $1.5B | — | 14.0× | 1.4× | 3.7% | 13.8% | -4.6% | -4.2% | -2.8% | 3.9× | 278 |
| DEC | $926M | 2.9× | 4.1× | 0.5× | 142% | — | 18.6% | 34.7% | 8.7% | 3.1× | 184 |
| CIVI | — | — | — | — | 49.7% | — | — | — | — | 1.3× | — |
Peers = companies sharing CIVI's sector (Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas) with collected SEC financials. Multiples use the most recent end-of-day close and latest fiscal-year fundamentals (trailing, not forward). Missing cells mean the peer never reported that line item, has no collected price, or has a non-positive denominator. Not investment advice.
What the company returns to shareholders — and whether it's covered by cash.
The dividend is comfortably covered — only 17% of free cash flow, leaving room to grow it and fund buybacks. Last year: $493.8M dividends + $427.3M buybacks = $921.1M returned on $2.87B FCF.
Yields use the latest fiscal-year dividends/buybacks over current market cap. Dividends and buybacks from the SEC cash-flow statement; payout coverage vs net income and free cash flow. Educational — not a recommendation.
How management deployed cash over 10 years — and what it earned on reinvestment.
A reinvestment story — most cash went back into growth rather than to shareholders.
Reinvestment has been productive — operating income grew well per dollar put in. Rough measure (includes maintenance capex).
Cash uses aggregated from the SEC cash-flow statement over 10 fiscal years. "Return on reinvestment" is a rough proxy — operating-income change ÷ cumulative CapEx + M&A — and includes maintenance capex. Educational — not a recommendation.
How much the company owes, how it's trended, and how comfortably it's serviced.
Green ≤ 1.5× · amber ≤ 3× · red > 3× (leverage relative to cash earnings).
Coverage is adequate but not comfortable. Effective rate ~10.2% on $4.49B of debt.
Cash vs short-term debt unavailable.
Mostly long-term debt (balance-sheet current vs non-current split). A year-by-year maturity schedule wasn't disclosed for this issuer.
Debt, cash, interest and equity from the SEC balance sheet & income statement. Effective rate = interest ÷ average debt. Educational — not a recommendation.
How a revenue dollar becomes profit — FY2024
Each value shows its share of revenue below it (common-size).
| Line Item | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 | FY2018 | FY2016 | FY2015 | FY2014 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $5.21B 100.0% | $3.48B 100.0% | $3.79B 100.0% | $930.6M 100.0% | $218.1M 100.0% | $313.2M 100.0% | $276.7M 100.0% | — | — | — |
| Selling, General & Admin | $227.0M 4.4% | $161.1M 4.6% | $143.5M 3.8% | $65.1M 7.0% | $34.9M 16.0% | $39.7M 12.7% | $42.5M 15.3% | $77.1M | $70.3M | $81.6M |
| Total Operating Expenses | $3.73B 71.6% | $2.34B 67.2% | $1.81B 47.7% | $608.6M 65.4% | $229.2M 105.1% | $207.7M 66.3% | $164.3M 59.4% | $324.4M | $1.20B | $606.1M |
| Operating Income | — | — | — | — | — | — | $112.4M 40.6% | -$129.1M | -$907.4M | -$47.5M |
| Interest Expense | $456.3M 8.8% | $182.7M 5.3% | $32.2M 0.8% | $9.7M 1.0% | $2.0M 0.9% | $2.6M 0.8% | $2.6M 0.9% | $62.1M | $57.1M | $46.4M |
| Other Income (Expense), net | -$396.7M -7.6% | -$140.0M -4.0% | -$330.3M -8.7% | -$70.3M -7.6% | $54.1M 24.8% | -$38.5M -12.3% | $55.8M 20.2% | -$69.8M | -$3.0M | $75.5M |
| Pretax Income | $1.08B 20.8% | $999.5M 28.7% | $1.65B 43.6% | $251.8M 27.1% | $43.0M 19.7% | $67.1M 21.4% | $168.2M 60.8% | -$198.9M | -$910.4M | $28.0M |
| Income Tax Expense | $244.0M 4.7% | $215.2M 6.2% | $405.7M 10.7% | $72.9M 7.8% | -$60.5M -27.8% | $0 0.0% | $0 0.0% | $0 | -$164.9M | $13.1M |
| Per Share | ||||||||||
| EPS (Basic) | $8.48 | $9.09 | $14.68 | $4.82 | $4.98 | $3.25 | $8.20 | -$4.04 | -$15.57 | $0.50 |
| EPS (Diluted) | $8.46 | $9.02 | $14.58 | $4.74 | $4.95 | $3.24 | $8.16 | -$4.04 | -$15.57 | $0.49 |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Basic) | 98.9M | 86.2M | 85.0M | 37.2M | 20.8M | 20.6M | 20.5M | 49.3M | 47.9M | 40.1M |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Diluted) | 99.2M | 87.0M | 85.6M | 37.7M | 20.9M | 20.7M | 20.6M | 49.3M | 47.9M | 40.3M |
Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings (annual, fiscal year). Quarterly flow items are derived from cumulative filings; balance-sheet figures are as-of each period end. Ratios and margins are computed, not reported.
Total return (dividends reinvested) vs the market, from quarter-end prices.
Above 0 = ahead of the S&P 500 since the window start; below 0 = behind. Rising means it's pulling ahead.
How far the stock fell below its prior peak. Deeper, longer drawdowns = a rougher ride to the same return.
Quarter-end, dividend-adjusted (total return). Beta & volatility from quarterly returns (annualized). Benchmark is the S&P 500 (SPY total return). Annual returns compound the quarters ending in each calendar year; the first and last years in a window may be partial. Past performance doesn't predict future results.
No current price collected.
Where each multiple sits in its own 12-yr range
Dot = today · shaded = middle 50% · line = median. Lower percentile = cheaper vs its own 12-yr history.
Is the profit real, and how strong is the balance sheet?
FY2024 · every deduction from revenue to net income
DuPont — the three levers
ROIC is not available for this period, so the share of ROE attributable to leverage cannot be separated out.
What the company owes vs. what it holds
This shows debt/cash structure and net leverage. The year-by-year maturity schedule is on the Debt & Leverage tab.
Latest year: profit growth vs revenue growth
Low operating leverage — profit tracks sales closely (stable, less cyclical).
Each line as % of revenue — the trend in color
| % of revenue | FY2016 | FY2018 | FY2019 | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SG&A | — | 15.3 | 12.7 | 16.0 | 7.0 | 3.8 | 4.6 | 4.4 |
| Operating Income | — | 40.6 | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Income Tax | — | 0.0 | 0.0 | -27.8 | 7.8 | 10.7 | 6.2 | 4.7 |
Green = margin-favorable vs the row's own range · red = unfavorable.
The metrics that matter, over time
A 30-second read on CIVI: price, valuation and headline fundamentals from SEC filings. The four questions at the top of the page are where the judgements live.
Cost of capital cannot be computed, so the spread is unknown.
| Fiscal year | Gross margin | Operating margin | Net margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2018 | not reported | 40.6% | not reported |
| FY2019 | not reported | 33.7% | not reported |
| FY2020 | not reported | -5.1% | not reported |
| FY2021 | not reported | 34.6% | not reported |
| FY2022 | not reported | 52.3% | not reported |
| FY2023 | not reported | 32.8% | not reported |
| FY2024 | not reported | 28.4% | not reported |
No material counter-signal in the checked set: ROIC vs WACC spread, 5-year spread history, gross margin trend, operating margin trend, net margin against 3 years ago, revenue growth, ROIC ex-goodwill gap.
Missing from our data, so excluded from this answer: beta, market_cap.
Fewer than three profitable years with a cash flow statement, so cash conversion cannot be judged.
No material counter-signal in the checked set: FCF / net income over 3 and 5 years, Sloan accruals, SBC as a share of revenue, SBC as a share of operating cash flow, SBC-adjusted free cash flow, free cash flow per diluted share, buybacks against SBC issued, capex vs depreciation, free cash flow against revenue, share count since the first year on file, cash conversion cycle (DSO, DIO, DPO), receivables growth against revenue growth.
Missing from our data, so excluded from this answer: 3 years of cash flow.
Covers interest 2.3x under stress — adequate, without much room.
| EBITDA decline | Interest coverage |
|---|---|
| 0% | 3.24x |
| 5% | 3.08x |
| 10% | 2.92x |
| 15% | 2.76x |
| 20% | 2.59x |
| 25% | 2.43x |
| 30% | 2.27x |
| 35% | 2.11x |
| 40% | 1.95x |
| 45% | 1.78x |
| 50% | 1.62x |
| 55% | 1.46x |
| 60% | 1.30x |
Balance sheet at 2024-12-31. Undrawn revolving credit is not shown: the tag is collected but not yet mapped through to the API.
The maturity schedule is not part of this verdict — its filing anchor is often older than the balance sheet it sits beside, so a wall inside 24 months may not be visible here.
No current price or share count, so the market's assumption cannot be solved for.
No material counter-signal in the checked set: reverse-DCF implied growth, historical FCF CAGR, per-year FCF growth distribution, reporting-basis breaks, discount rate used, free-cash-flow basis (stock comp charged?).
Missing from our data, so excluded from this answer: market_cap.