Loading institutional data...
Loading institutional data...
Strong institutional distribution: ownership decreased -11.25% quarter-over-quarter.
Data as of Q1 2026
Loading snapshot...
Loading financials...
Loading valuation...
Loading quality & risk...
Loading dividends & returns...
Loading capital allocation...
Loading debt & leverage...
Loading performance...
Loading peer comparison...
Loading ownership map...
Loading crowding analysis...
Loading conviction analysis...
Loading buy/sell flow...
Loading ownership trends...
Loading top holders...
Loading top holders...
Total shares institutions bought (green) vs sold (red) each quarter across all holders.
Inferred from quarter-over-quarter change in each fund's 13F position (new stakes count as buys, exits as sells). Not tick-level trades.
Top 39 institutional holders — bubble size is position value, color is the move since last quarter. Hover any holder for detail.
Drag any bubble to rearrange · size = dollar value of the position
How management deployed cash over 10 years — and what it earned on reinvestment.
A reinvestment story — most cash went back into growth rather than to shareholders.
Operating income fell despite reinvestment — a warning on capital productivity. Current ROIC on all capital: -99%. Rough measure (includes maintenance capex).
Cash uses aggregated from the SEC cash-flow statement over 10 fiscal years. "Return on reinvestment" is a rough proxy — operating-income change ÷ cumulative CapEx + M&A — and includes maintenance capex. Educational — not a recommendation.
How much the company owes, how it's trended, and how comfortably it's serviced.
Cash of $58M covers all $11M of scheduled principal — no refinancing pressure. Scheduled principal only (excludes interest & revolver draws). As of 2020-12-31 (20-F).
Green ≤ 1.5× · amber ≤ 3× · red > 3× (leverage relative to cash earnings).
Thin coverage — earnings barely cover interest.
Cash vs short-term debt unavailable.
Short-term / long-term split not separately reported.
Debt, cash, interest and equity from the SEC balance sheet & income statement. Effective rate = interest ÷ average debt. Maturity ladder from the SEC long-term-debt repayment schedule. Educational — not a recommendation.
EOD close · as of 2026-09-14
How a revenue dollar becomes profit — FY2025
Each value shows its share of revenue below it (common-size).
| Line Item | FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 | FY2018 | FY2017 | FY2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $397.2M 100.0% | $443.2M 100.0% | $565.2M 100.0% | $690.8M 100.0% | $643.9M 100.0% | $486.4M 100.0% | $546.0M 100.0% | $575.9M 100.0% | $588.1M 100.0% | $538.5M 100.0% |
| Cost of Revenue | $323.9M 81.6% | $346.5M 78.2% | $473.3M 83.7% | $527.6M 76.4% | $472.4M 73.4% | $352.5M 72.5% | $397.3M 72.8% | $412.5M 71.6% | $390.9M 66.5% | $326.1M 60.5% |
| Gross Profit | $73.3M 18.4% | $96.7M 21.8% | $91.9M 16.3% | $163.2M 23.6% | $171.5M 26.6% | $133.9M 27.5% | $148.6M 27.2% | $163.4M 28.4% | $197.2M 33.5% | $212.5M 39.5% |
| Research & Development | $5.7M 1.4% | $5.0M 1.1% | $5.1M 0.9% | $4.1M 0.6% | $4.2M 0.7% | $4.0M 0.8% | $4.1M 0.8% | $3.6M 0.6% | $4.2M 0.7% | $3.3M 0.6% |
| Selling, General & Admin | $39.5M 9.9% | $39.1M 8.8% | $49.5M 8.8% | $51.6M 7.5% | $50.8M 7.9% | $39.1M 8.0% | $40.7M 7.5% | $43.3M 7.5% | $45.9M 7.8% | $40.2M 7.5% |
| Total Operating Expenses | $199.0M 50.1% | $138.6M 31.3% | $180.0M 31.8% | $221.9M 32.1% | $144.1M 22.4% | $111.4M 22.9% | $124.0M 22.7% | $130.6M 22.7% | $156.7M 26.6% | $119.7M 22.2% |
| Operating Income | -$125.7M -31.6% | -$41.9M -9.5% | -$88.0M -15.6% | -$58.7M -8.5% | $27.4M 4.3% | $22.5M 4.6% | $24.7M 4.5% | $32.8M 5.7% | $40.5M 6.9% | $92.8M 17.2% |
| Interest Expense | $69K 0.0% | $300K 0.1% | $377K 0.1% | $346K 0.1% | $2.0M 0.3% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Interest & Investment Income | $3.1M 0.8% | $4.8M 1.1% | $1.5M 0.3% | $20K 0.0% | $147K 0.0% | $657K 0.1% | $1.0M 0.2% | $1.5M 0.3% | $1.0M 0.2% | $152K 0.0% |
| Other Income (Expense), net | -$7.8M -2.0% | -$9K -0.0% | $1.1M 0.2% | $3.1M 0.4% | -$7.6M -1.2% | -$10.2M -2.1% | -$5.6M -1.0% | -$3.6M -0.6% | -$5.6M -0.9% | -$3.3M -0.6% |
| Pretax Income | -$133.5M -33.6% | -$41.9M -9.5% | -$87.0M -15.4% | -$55.6M -8.0% | $19.8M 3.1% | $12.3M 2.5% | $19.1M 3.5% | $29.1M 5.1% | $35.0M 5.9% | $89.5M 16.6% |
| Income Tax Expense | $4.3M 1.1% | $1.1M 0.2% | $21.3M 3.8% | $758K 0.1% | $1.9M 0.3% | $4.7M 1.0% | $6.2M 1.1% | $4.6M 0.8% | $7.4M 1.3% | $13.0M 2.4% |
| Net Income | -$137.5M -34.6% | -$42.8M -9.7% | -$107.7M -19.0% | -$57.1M -8.3% | $19.0M 2.9% | $7.2M 1.5% | $12.9M 2.4% | $24.4M 4.2% | $26.2M 4.5% | $74.6M 13.9% |
| Per Share | ||||||||||
| EPS (Basic) | $-3.98 | $-1.13 | $-3.13 | $-1.66 | $0.51 | $0.21 | — | — | $0.73 | $2.08 |
| EPS (Diluted) | $-3.98 | $-1.13 | $-3.13 | $-1.66 | $0.51 | $0.21 | — | — | $0.73 | $2.08 |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Basic) | 34.6M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.4M | 34.4M | 34.4M | 34.3M | 34.7M |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Diluted) | 34.6M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.6M | 34.5M | 34.5M | 34.4M | 34.4M | 34.8M |
Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings (annual, fiscal year). Quarterly flow items are derived from cumulative filings; balance-sheet figures are as-of each period end. Ratios and margins are computed, not reported.
Solve the discounted cash flow backwards, then stress-test the assumptions.
To be worth $3.13 today, the market must believe free cash flow compounds -38.7%/yr for a decade (off $38M normalized FCF).
2-stage DCF · 0.03B shares · net debt -$58M
mean -123.4% · volatility σ 103% · implied rate exceeded in 0/6 yrs
Central path = implied -38.7%/yr growth; shaded band = ±1σ (103%) of this company's historical FCF volatility, widening with time. The wider the band, the less certain the growth.
Reverse DCF: rather than guessing a fair value, we solve for the growth the current price implies, then you stress-test the assumptions. Enterprise value of the FCF stream, less net debt, ÷ shares. Educational — not a recommendation.
Is the value real, and is the business safe? Academic scores + earnings quality + solvency, from SEC filings.
3/8 of the 9 checks — 1 couldn't be scored (see above), so the score is out of the 8 with data.
Insufficient balance-sheet detail (needs retained earnings, working capital, equity).
Eight indices comparing this year to last (receivables, margins, asset quality, growth, accruals, leverage). Above −1.78 suggests possible manipulation; below −2.22 is clean.
A screen, not proof — high growth alone can raise it.
Cash-conversion data unavailable. Lower/negative accruals = higher quality (Sloan).
Interest coverage is thin — monitor.
F-Score (0–9 fundamental momentum), Altman Z (distress risk), and Beneish M (earnings-manipulation screen) are academic models computed from the SEC filings. Screens and context — educational, not recommendations.
What the company returns to shareholders — and whether it's covered by cash.
No dividend to cover. Last year: $0 dividends + $0 buybacks = $0 returned on -$47M FCF.
Yields use the latest fiscal-year dividends/buybacks over current market cap. Dividends and buybacks from the SEC cash-flow statement; payout coverage vs net income and free cash flow. Educational — not a recommendation.
Ranked against 651 sector peers with collected financials. Valuation from latest close × latest fiscal-year fundamentals; 13F conviction as of 2026-03-31.
Percentile is “goodness” within the peer set (100 = best). For valuation and leverage that means cheaper / less-levered ranks higher.
| Company | Mkt cap ▼ | P/E | EV/EBITDA | P/S | Rev gr | Gross | Net | ROE | ROIC | Net D/EBITDA | 13F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LTM | $29.18T | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 160 |
| CAT | $364.8B | 41.7× | 29.1× | 5.4× | 4.3% | 33.8% | 13.1% | 41.7% | 15.4% | 2.7× | 3,616 |
| GE | $333.0B | 39.0× | — | 7.3× | 18.5% | — | 19.0% | 46.6% | 22.2% | — | 3,077 |
| RTX | $262.2B | 39.4× | 18.6× | 3.0× | 9.7% | — | 7.6% | 10.3% | 10.3% | 0.0× | 3,277 |
| BA | $212.8B | 84.8× | 42.4× | 2.4× | 34.5% | 4.8% | 2.5% | 41.0% | 3.3% | 10.0× | 2,435 |
| DE | $184.3B | 36.8× | — | 4.0× | -11.7% | — | 11.0% | 19.4% | 12.6% | — | 2,491 |
| ABBNY | $170.8B | 46.1× | 30.5× | 5.3× | 9.5% | 34.8% | 11.9% | 28.5% | 20.4% | 0.9× | 48 |
| UNP | $169.1B | 23.8× | 16.2× | 6.9× | 1.1% | — | 29.1% | 38.7% | 14.2% | 2.6× | 2,648 |
| ETN | $152.5B | 37.6× | — | 5.6× | 10.3% | 37.6% | 14.9% | 21.0% | 13.9% | — | 2,398 |
| HON | $127.9B | 27.4× | 15.8× | 3.4× | 7.8% | 36.9% | 12.6% | 34.0% | 9.8% | 3.6× | 2,694 |
| LMT | $121.2B | 24.6× | 15.9× | 1.6× | 5.6% | 10.2% | 6.7% | 74.6% | 17.7% | 2.5× | 2,807 |
| PH | $119.2B | 34.3× | 26.9× | 6.0× | -0.4% | 36.9% | 17.8% | 25.8% | 16.7% | 1.6× | 1,845 |
| ADP | $110.0B | 25.3× | — | 5.0× | 6.7% | 46.4% | 20.1% | 73.2% | 40.1% | — | 2,179 |
| GD | $96.5B | 23.1× | 16.9× | 1.8× | 10.1% | — | 8.0% | 16.4% | 12.5% | 1.3× | 2,123 |
| TT | $95.0B | 32.8× | 23.4× | 4.5× | 7.5% | — | 13.7% | 34.0% | 22.1% | 1.1× | 1,658 |
| PWR | $93.0B | 91.5× | 46.1× | 3.3× | 20.3% | 15.0% | 3.6% | 11.5% | 10.6% | 0.4× | 1,659 |
| HWM | $91.2B | 61.2× | 40.2× | 11.1× | 11.1% | — | 18.3% | 28.2% | 17.9% | 1.3× | 1,399 |
| CSX | $91.0B | 31.8× | 14.7× | 6.5× | -3.1% | — | 20.5% | 22.0% | 22.0% | — | 1,791 |
| VRT | $90.8B | 69.6× | 43.0× | 8.9× | 27.7% | 36.3% | 13.0% | 33.8% | 19.4% | 1.4× | 1,748 |
| JCI | $89.8B | 27.4× | — | 3.8× | 2.8% | 36.4% | 13.9% | 25.5% | 14.4% | — | 1,487 |
| WM | $87.9B | 32.5× | 12.3× | 3.5× | 14.2% | 40.4% | 10.7% | 27.1% | 25.3% | 0.1× | 2,262 |
| UPS | $87.0B | 15.6× | 9.7× | 1.0× | -2.6% | — | 6.3% | 34.3% | 13.8% | 2.2× | 2,025 |
| MMM | $85.9B | 27.0× | 16.6× | 3.4× | 1.5% | 39.9% | 13.0% | 69.1% | 18.8% | 2.1× | 2,051 |
| EMR | $83.5B | 36.7× | — | 4.6× | 3.0% | 52.8% | 12.7% | 11.3% | 6.9% | — | 2,112 |
| CTAS | $80.9B | 45.6× | 29.1× | 7.8× | 7.7% | 50.0% | 17.5% | 38.7% | 25.5% | 0.8× | 1,366 |
| CSTE | $108M | — | — | 0.3× | -10.4% | 18.4% | -34.6% | -98.7% | -98.7% | — | 38 |
Peers = companies sharing CSTE's sector (Industrials) with collected SEC financials. Multiples use the most recent end-of-day close and latest fiscal-year fundamentals (trailing, not forward). Missing cells mean the peer never reported that line item, has no collected price, or has a non-positive denominator. Not investment advice.
Total return (dividends reinvested) vs the market, from quarter-end prices.
Above 0 = ahead of the S&P 500 since the window start; below 0 = behind. Rising means it's pulling ahead.
How far the stock fell below its prior peak. Deeper, longer drawdowns = a rougher ride to the same return.
Quarter-end, dividend-adjusted (total return). Beta & volatility from quarterly returns (annualized). Benchmark is the S&P 500 (SPY total return). Annual returns compound the quarters ending in each calendar year; the first and last years in a window may be partial. Past performance doesn't predict future results.
EOD close · as of 2026-09-14
No standout strengths flagged.
Where each multiple sits in its own 14-yr range · 25th pct blended
Dot = today · shaded = middle 50% · line = median. Lower percentile = cheaper vs its own 14-yr history.
Is the profit real, and how strong is the balance sheet?
FY2025 · every deduction from revenue to net income
DuPont — the three levers
Watch the leverage lever — a chunk of ROE comes from the balance sheet.
What the company owes vs. what it holds
Year-by-year maturities aren't in SEC companyfacts (footnote-only), so this shows the debt/cash structure and net leverage instead.
Latest year: profit growth vs revenue growth
Profit and sales moved in opposite directions this year.
Each line as % of revenue — the trend in color
| % of revenue | FY2018 | FY2019 | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost of Revenue | 71.6 | 72.8 | 72.5 | 73.4 | 76.4 | 83.7 | 78.2 | 81.6 |
| Gross Profit | 28.4 | 27.2 | 27.5 | 26.6 | 23.6 | 16.3 | 21.8 | 18.4 |
| R&D | 0.6 | 0.8 | 0.8 | 0.7 | 0.6 | 0.9 | 1.1 | 1.4 |
| SG&A | 7.5 | 7.5 | 8.0 | 7.9 | 7.5 | 8.8 | 8.8 | 9.9 |
| Operating Income | 5.7 | 4.5 | 4.6 | 4.3 | -8.5 | -15.6 | -9.5 | -31.6 |
| Income Tax | 0.8 | 1.1 | 1.0 | 0.3 | 0.1 | 3.8 | 0.2 | 1.1 |
| Net Income | 4.2 | 2.4 | 1.5 | 2.9 | -8.3 | -19.0 | -9.7 | -34.6 |
Green = margin-favorable vs the row's own range · red = unfavorable.
The metrics that matter, over time
A 30-second read on CSTE: price, valuation, headline fundamentals, and an auto-generated scorecard from SEC filings. Flags are rule-based signals, not recommendations.