Loading institutional data...
Loading institutional data...
Insufficient data to determine institutional momentum.
Data as of Q2 2026
Loading snapshot...
Loading financials...
Loading valuation...
Loading analysis...
Loading dividends & returns...
Loading capital allocation...
Loading debt & leverage...
Loading performance...
Loading peer comparison...
Loading ownership map...
Loading crowding analysis...
Loading conviction analysis...
Loading buy/sell flow...
Loading ownership trends...
Loading top holders...
Loading top holders...
Total shares institutions bought (green) vs sold (red) each quarter across all holders.
Inferred from quarter-over-quarter change in each fund's 13F position (new stakes count as buys, exits as sells). Not tick-level trades.
Top 10 institutional holders — bubble size is position value, color is the move since last quarter. Hover any holder for detail.
Drag any bubble to rearrange · size = dollar value of the position
What the company returns to shareholders — and whether it's covered by cash.
The dividend is comfortably covered — only 17% of free cash flow, leaving room to grow it and fund buybacks. Last year: $682.0M dividends + $141.0M buybacks = $823.0M returned on $4.02B FCF.
1 consecutive years of dividend increases · 31%/yr.
Yields use the latest fiscal-year dividends/buybacks over current market cap. Dividends and buybacks from the SEC cash-flow statement; payout coverage vs net income and free cash flow. Educational — not a recommendation.
How management deployed cash over 10 years — and what it earned on reinvestment.
A cash-return story — far more went to shareholders than back into the business (mature, low-reinvestment).
Reinvestment has been productive — operating income grew well per dollar put in. Current ROIC on all capital: 9%. Rough measure (includes maintenance capex).
Cash uses aggregated from the SEC cash-flow statement over 10 fiscal years. "Return on reinvestment" is a rough proxy — operating-income change ÷ cumulative CapEx + M&A — and includes maintenance capex. Educational — not a recommendation.
How much the company owes, how it's trended, and how comfortably it's serviced.
Cash of $114.0M is below the $250.0M due within a year — relies on refinancing or operating cash flow. Scheduled principal only (excludes interest & revolver draws). As of 2025-12-31 (10-K).
Green ≤ 1.5× · amber ≤ 3× · red > 3× (leverage relative to cash earnings).
Interest is easily covered by operating profit. Effective rate ~5.4% on $3.82B of debt.
Cash of $114.0M is below short-term debt of $250.0M — relies on refinancing/operations.
Mostly long-term debt (balance-sheet current vs non-current split). See the maturity ladder above for the year-by-year repayment schedule.
Debt, cash, interest and equity from the SEC balance sheet & income statement. Effective rate = interest ÷ average debt. Maturity ladder from the SEC long-term-debt repayment schedule. Educational — not a recommendation.
How a revenue dollar becomes profit — FY2025
Dividends and buybacks are cash paid out, shown here against the same year's profit for scale — not funded from it.
Each value shows its share of revenue below it (common-size).
| Line Item | FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 | FY2018 | FY2017 | FY2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $7.64B 100.0% | $5.46B 100.0% | $5.91B 100.0% | $9.05B 100.0% | $3.45B 100.0% | $1.47B 100.0% | $2.07B 100.0% | $2.19B 100.0% | $1.76B 100.0% | $1.16B 100.0% |
| Selling, General & Admin | $323.0M 4.2% | $302.0M 5.5% | $291.0M 4.9% | $396.0M 4.4% | $270.0M 7.8% | $106.0M 7.2% | $95.0M 4.6% | $96.6M 4.4% | $97.8M 5.5% | $85.6M 7.4% |
| Total Operating Expenses | $5.20B 68.0% | $4.07B 74.6% | $3.77B 63.8% | $3.84B 42.4% | $1.88B 54.6% | $1.17B 79.8% | $1.19B 57.6% | $1.40B 64.0% | $1.80B 102.2% | $1.72B 148.5% |
| Operating Income | $2.45B 32.1% | $1.39B 25.4% | $2.15B 36.4% | $5.21B 57.6% | $1.56B 45.3% | $296.0M 20.2% | $956.0M 46.3% | $771.8M 35.3% | -$151.3M -8.6% | -$564.9M -48.9% |
| Interest Expense | $205.0M 2.7% | $106.0M 1.9% | $73.0M 1.2% | $80.0M 0.9% | $62.0M 1.8% | $49.0M 3.3% | — | — | — | — |
| Interest & Investment Income | $14.0M 0.2% | $62.0M 1.1% | $47.0M 0.8% | $10.0M 0.1% | $0 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Other Income (Expense), net | $2.0M 0.0% | $0 0.0% | $0 0.0% | $2.0M 0.0% | $0 0.0% | $0 0.0% | -$1.0M -0.0% | -$463K -0.0% | $5.0M 0.3% | -$1.6M -0.1% |
| Pretax Income | $2.26B 29.6% | $1.34B 24.6% | $2.13B 36.0% | $5.17B 57.1% | $1.50B 43.5% | $242.0M 16.5% | $900.0M 43.6% | $698.1M 31.9% | -$228.4M -12.9% | -$659.6M -57.1% |
| Income Tax Expense | $546.0M 7.1% | $224.0M 4.1% | $503.0M 8.5% | $1.10B 12.2% | $344.0M 10.0% | $41.0M 2.8% | $219.0M 10.6% | $141.1M 6.4% | -$328.8M -18.6% | -$242.5M -21.0% |
| Net Income | $1.72B 22.5% | $1.12B 20.5% | $1.63B 27.5% | $4.07B 44.9% | $1.16B 33.6% | $201.0M 13.7% | $681.0M 33.0% | — | — | — |
| Per Share | ||||||||||
| EPS (Basic) | $2.25 | $1.51 | $2.14 | $5.09 | $2.30 | $0.50 | $1.64 | $1.25 | $0.22 | -$0.91 |
| EPS (Diluted) | $2.24 | $1.50 | $2.13 | $5.08 | $2.29 | $0.50 | $1.63 | $1.24 | $0.22 | -$0.91 |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Basic) | 761.0M | 742.0M | 756.0M | 796.0M | 503.0M | 399.0M | 416.0M | 445.5M | 463.7M | 456.8M |
| Weighted Avg Shares (Diluted) | 764.0M | 745.0M | 760.0M | 799.0M | 504.0M | 401.0M | 418.0M | 447.6M | 465.6M | 456.8M |
Source: SEC EDGAR XBRL filings (annual, fiscal year). Quarterly flow items are derived from cumulative filings; balance-sheet figures are as-of each period end. Ratios and margins are computed, not reported.
Ranked against 38 sector peers with collected financials. Valuation from latest close × latest fiscal-year fundamentals; 13F conviction as of 2026-06-30.
Percentile is “goodness” within the peer set (100 = best). For valuation and leverage that means cheaper / less-levered ranks higher.
| Company | Mkt cap ▼ | P/E | EV/EBITDA | P/S | Rev gr | Gross | Net | ROE | ROIC | Net D/EBITDA | 13F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOG | $80.9B | 16.9× | 7.9× | 3.6× | -4.5% | — | 22.0% | 16.7% | 13.2% | 0.4× | 1,561 |
| OXY | $61.4B | 38.1× | — | 2.8× | -1.9% | — | 11.0% | 6.6% | 4.2% | — | 1,206 |
| FANG | $55.3B | 34.5× | 11.1× | 3.7× | 35.8% | — | 11.1% | 4.5% | 3.2% | 2.3× | 1,145 |
| DVN | $54.9B | 12.0× | — | 3.2× | 7.8% | — | 15.4% | 17.0% | 11.0% | — | 1,410 |
| EQT | $33.0B | 15.9× | 7.0× | 3.8× | 63.9% | 82.3% | 23.6% | 8.6% | 6.5% | 1.3× | 1,062 |
| EXE | $21.1B | 12.0× | 4.7× | 1.7× | 186% | — | 15.0% | 9.8% | 7.7% | 0.8× | 820 |
| PR | $20.2B | 18.8× | — | 4.0× | 1.3% | — | 18.5% | 9.1% | 6.8% | — | 583 |
| OVV | $18.5B | 14.0× | 7.1× | 2.1× | -2.7% | — | 13.9% | 11.1% | 7.6% | 1.6× | 576 |
| AR | $11.3B | 18.0× | 7.8× | 2.1× | 22.0% | — | 12.8% | 8.9% | 7.5% | 0.9× | 609 |
| RRC | $9.8B | 15.3× | — | 3.1× | 28.9% | 94.0% | 21.1% | 15.2% | 11.9% | — | 525 |
| SM | $9.1B | 6.8× | — | 2.9× | 17.2% | — | 20.5% | 13.5% | 13.5% | — | 481 |
| CHRD | $8.0B | 197.5× | 5.6× | 1.6× | -7.1% | 80.0% | 0.9% | 0.6% | 0.5% | 0.8× | 498 |
| MTDR | $6.8B | 9.1× | 4.2× | 1.9× | 5.5% | 94.4% | 20.5% | 13.4% | 8.4% | 1.4× | 472 |
| MGY | $6.7B | — | 7.8× | 5.1× | -0.3% | — | 24.8% | 16.3% | 13.6% | 0.1× | 394 |
| MUR | $5.6B | 54.6× | 5.1× | 2.1× | -10.2% | 100% | 3.8% | 2.0% | 1.6% | 0.7× | 419 |
| CNX | $5.2B | 8.8× | 5.2× | 2.3× | 76.8% | — | 28.3% | 14.6% | 9.4% | 1.6× | 374 |
| CRC | $4.8B | 13.0× | 5.4× | 1.3× | 14.7% | — | 9.9% | 9.9% | 7.3% | 1.0× | 352 |
| PARR | $4.4B | 12.4× | 7.4× | 0.6× | -6.4% | — | 4.9% | 24.4% | 16.0% | 0.9× | 360 |
| CRK | $4.0B | 9.6× | 5.3× | 1.8× | 77.0% | — | 17.8% | 14.9% | 7.3% | 2.2× | 313 |
| GPOR | $2.9B | 7.7× | 4.1× | 2.1× | 48.5% | 74.8% | 30.1% | 23.3% | 16.3% | 0.9× | 279 |
| TALO | $2.8B | — | 7.5× | 1.6× | -9.8% | — | -27.8% | -22.8% | -14.6% | 1.7× | 285 |
| NOG | $2.8B | 67.4× | — | 1.1× | 11.2% | 80.9% | 1.6% | 1.8% | 0.9% | — | 333 |
| BKV | $2.5B | 11.3× | 6.8× | 2.2× | 9.9% | — | 15.7% | 9.0% | 5.7% | 1.8× | 160 |
| AESI | $1.4B | — | 13.1× | 1.3× | 3.7% | 13.8% | -4.6% | -4.2% | -2.8% | 3.9× | 278 |
| DEC | $1.0B | 3.2× | 4.2× | 0.6× | 142% | — | 18.6% | 34.7% | 8.7% | 3.1× | 184 |
| CTRA | — | — | — | — | 40.1% | — | 22.5% | 11.6% | 9.2% | 0.8× | 10 |
Peers = companies sharing CTRA's sector (Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas) with collected SEC financials. Multiples use the most recent end-of-day close and latest fiscal-year fundamentals (trailing, not forward). Missing cells mean the peer never reported that line item, has no collected price, or has a non-positive denominator. Not investment advice.
Total return (dividends reinvested) vs the market, from quarter-end prices.
Above 0 = ahead of the S&P 500 since the window start; below 0 = behind. Rising means it's pulling ahead.
How far the stock fell below its prior peak. Deeper, longer drawdowns = a rougher ride to the same return.
Quarter-end, dividend-adjusted (total return). Beta & volatility from quarterly returns (annualized). Benchmark is the S&P 500 (SPY total return). Annual returns compound the quarters ending in each calendar year; the first and last years in a window may be partial. Past performance doesn't predict future results.
No current price collected.
Where each multiple sits in its own 14-yr range
Dot = today · shaded = middle 50% · line = median. Lower percentile = cheaper vs its own 14-yr history.
Is the profit real, and how strong is the balance sheet?
FY2025 · every deduction from revenue to net income
DuPont — the three levers
ROE 12% against ROIC 9% — 2% of the return on equity comes from leverage and buybacks rather than from the operating business.
What the company owes vs. what it holds
This shows debt/cash structure and net leverage. The year-by-year maturity schedule is on the Debt & Leverage tab.
Latest year: profit growth vs revenue growth
High operating leverage: profit moved 1.9× as fast as sales — great in an upturn, painful in a downturn.
Each line as % of revenue — the trend in color
| % of revenue | FY2018 | FY2019 | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SG&A | 4.4 | 4.6 | 7.2 | 7.8 | 4.4 | 4.9 | 5.5 | 4.2 |
| Operating Income | 35.3 | 46.3 | 20.2 | 45.3 | 57.6 | 36.4 | 25.4 | 32.1 |
| Income Tax | 6.4 | 10.6 | 2.8 | 10.0 | 12.2 | 8.5 | 4.1 | 7.1 |
| Net Income | — | 33.0 | 13.7 | 33.6 | 44.9 | 27.5 | 20.5 | 22.5 |
Green = margin-favorable vs the row's own range · red = unfavorable.
The metrics that matter, over time
A 30-second read on CTRA: price, valuation and headline fundamentals from SEC filings. The four questions at the top of the page are where the judgements live.
Cost of capital cannot be computed, so the spread is unknown.
| Fiscal year | Gross margin | Operating margin | Net margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2016 | not reported | -48.9% | not reported |
| FY2017 | not reported | -8.6% | not reported |
| FY2018 | not reported | 35.3% | not reported |
| FY2019 | not reported | 46.3% | 33.0% |
| FY2020 | not reported | 20.2% | 13.7% |
| FY2021 | not reported | 45.3% | 33.6% |
| FY2022 | not reported | 57.6% | 44.9% |
| FY2023 | not reported | 36.4% | 27.5% |
| FY2024 | not reported | 25.4% | 20.5% |
| FY2025 | not reported | 32.1% | 22.5% |
Leverage and buybacks account for 2 points of the 12% return on equity in FY2025. The business earns 9% on the capital it employs; the rest is balance sheet.
ROE is on average equity; ROIC is NOPAT over average invested capital (debt plus equity less excess cash). The gap is not a single adjustment.
No material counter-signal in the checked set: ROIC vs WACC spread, 5-year spread history, gross margin trend, operating margin trend, net margin against 3 years ago, revenue growth, ROIC ex-goodwill gap.
Missing from our data, so excluded from this answer: beta, market_cap.
Converts 1.97x of reported profit into free cash flow over 5 years, with accruals negative.
Shares outstanding are up 83% since FY2019 — per-share cash flow has grown more slowly than the totals above, and the gap is the owners'.
Covers interest 8.4x even after a 30% EBITDA decline.
| EBITDA decline | Interest coverage |
|---|---|
| 0% | 11.96x |
| 5% | 11.36x |
| 10% | 10.76x |
| 15% | 10.17x |
| 20% | 9.57x |
| 25% | 8.97x |
| 30% | 8.37x |
| 35% | 7.77x |
| 40% | 7.18x |
| 45% | 6.58x |
| 50% | 5.98x |
| 55% | 5.38x |
| 60% | 4.78x |
Ladder as of 2025-12-31 (10-K); cash from the 2025-12-31 balance sheet; FCF from FY2025.
Balance sheet at 2025-12-31. Undrawn revolving credit is not shown: the tag is collected but not yet mapped through to the API.
The maturity schedule is not part of this verdict — its filing anchor is often older than the balance sheet it sits beside, so a wall inside 24 months may not be visible here.
No current price or share count, so the market's assumption cannot be solved for.
No material counter-signal in the checked set: reverse-DCF implied growth, historical FCF CAGR, per-year FCF growth distribution, reporting-basis breaks, discount rate used, free-cash-flow basis (stock comp charged?).
Missing from our data, so excluded from this answer: market_cap.
| Step | Amount | Running total |
|---|---|---|
| Net income | $1.72B | $1.72B |
| Share-based comp | $63M | $1.78B |
| Other non-cash & working capital | $2.24B | $4.02B |
| Operating cash flow | $4.02B | $4.02B |
| Capex | $0 | $4.02B |
| Free cash flow | $4.02B | $4.02B |
| FCF after SBC | $3.96B | $3.96B |
| Fiscal year | Revenue growth | Receivables growth | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | -29.0% | 2.9% | 31.9 points |
| FY2021 | 135.3% | 382.3% | 247.1 points |
| FY2022 | 162.4% | 17.7% | -144.7 points |
| FY2023 | -34.7% | -31.0% | 3.7 points |
| FY2024 | -7.7% | 12.8% | 20.5 points |
| FY2025 | 40.1% | 27.0% | -13.1 points |
| Fiscal year | DSO | DIO | DPO | Cash conversion cycle |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2019 | 36.9 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2020 | 53.5 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2021 | 109.7 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2022 | 49.2 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2023 | 52 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2024 | 63.6 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| FY2025 | 57.7 days | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Fiscal year | Accruals / assets |
|---|---|
| FY2019 | -17.0 percent |
| FY2020 | -12.8 percent |
| FY2021 | -2.6 percent |
| FY2022 | -6.9 percent |
| FY2023 | -10.0 percent |
| FY2024 | -7.7 percent |
| FY2025 | -9.5 percent |
SBC is added back inside operating cash flow, so reported free cash flow treats shares issued to employees as free. Percent of revenue says how expensive the payroll is; percent of operating cash flow says how much of the cash exists only because the charge was added back. The buyback offset is buybacks over SBC — below 1.0 the repurchase does not cover the shares issued.
Figures are the latest fiscal year (FY2025) from the company's own filings, not a trailing-twelve-month window — Q2 reads fiscal years throughout so the cash-conversion ratios and these share one basis. A blank is a line the filer did not report; it is never read as zero.